(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-8874902-25', 'csrl.in'); ga('send', 'pageview');

Dr Zakir Husain Great Teachers Award

Date & Venue- 8th Feb 2012, New Delhi

Dr. Zakir Hussain was a great educationist. During the early stages of his career, he realized that national renaissance could not come through the narrow gates of politics but through reformative education. The objective of the program was to suitably motivate great teachers who could further improve their performance, capture creative and best teaching practices and document the captured practices, examples and stories and share with other teachers. This would help them in adopting good practices and techniques of teaching and improving their performance, besides promoting peer learning.

The program started with a formal welcome of the guest on the dais. After welcoming the guests, the program kicked off with an inaugural speech by Mr S K Shahi, Director CSRL, about the inspiration behind writing “What makes a great teacher?”; conception of the award and about how the “book cum instrument” for Dr Zakir Husian great teachers award was distributed in 150 schools.

A total of 104 applications were received from teachers, which were scrutinized by dedicated jury members headed by Justice B.P. Singh. The platinum award was received by Ms Hemlata Jaganathan, PGT Eco from Navyug School, Sarojini Nagar. Gold Award by Dr Madhu Singh, PGT Hindi from Navyug School, Motibagh and Silver Award was won by Ms Pushpalata Rai, TGT Hindi again from Navyug School Motibagh. Other award winners were Mr Sudha Sivdas, Indirapuram Public School, Ms Sarita Kumar, Kulachi Hansraj Model School, Ms Mridula Arora, Navyug School, Ms Nivedita Ganguli, DAV Public School, Ms Heemal Handoo Bhat DAV Public School, Mr Harekrushna Behra, Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Unchaaar, Mr Anil Kumar Gupta, Modern School.

The Platinum Award winner received a cash amount of Rs 51,000/ along with certificate and souvenirs. Gold award winner received RS 21,000/- and Silver award winner received Rs 5,100/- as cash prize.